> Editorial Note: I’m Heather Adams, and I cover sofas, tables, mattresses, and bedding. The picks here are evaluated on the materials layer: foam density, coil gauge, frame construction, and fiber content against CertiPUR-US, OEKO-TEX, and BIFMA standards.
A Tuft & Needle mattress search gets complicated when one brand label covers an 8-inch foam bed, a 10-inch medium-firm model, a king-size gel-foam mattress, and a hybrid. The right pick depends less on the logo than on size, firmness, height, and price. Start with best memory foam mattress, then compare best hybrid mattress, best firm mattress, best mattress for side sleepers, and best king mattress before you choose.
How We Evaluated
I compared the five listings by the details they actually provide: model name, mattress height, size, firmness, construction label, owner rating, and listed price. That keeps the comparison honest. The Kin models are separated by firmness and height; the full-size option is judged as a smaller-bed value; and the Mint and Original Hybrid are treated as different constructions rather than interchangeable Tuft & Needle products. Ratings run from 4.2 to 4.6, while prices range from $310 to $1,845, so this list spans a real budget gap.
For material language, CertiPUR-US is the useful baseline to look for in foam mattresses, while Sleep Foundation guidance is a good reminder that firmness and sleep position need to match. Wirecutter coverage also favors judging a mattress by the sleeper and construction, not by the brand name alone. No listing detail can predict every sleeper’s result, so use the product page to confirm current sizing and availability before ordering.

All five options below are Tuft & Needle or Kin by Tuft & Needle listings with ratings of at least 4.2. Use #1 as the default queen-size starting point, jump to #2 if you specifically want firmer and lower-profile, and skip to #3 or #5 if king size or hybrid construction matters more than price.
1. Kin By Tuft & Needle Medium Firm 10″ Adaptive Foam Queen Mattress in a Box — The Balanced Queen Starting Point
The Kin medium-firm queen is the most sensible first look for shoppers who want a standard queen and don’t already know they need an especially firm or especially plush feel. The 10-inch height gives it a more substantial profile than the 8-inch Kin, while the listing’s Adaptive Foam label keeps the construction straightforward. Its 4.2 rating is the lowest in this group, but it also sits below the premium king and hybrid prices. At $749, this is the middle-ground choice: not the cheapest way into the brand, yet less of a commitment than the top-priced models. Choose it when queen sizing and a medium-firm feel are the decision points.
amazon_image_block id=”amazon-image-2″`r`n`r`n### 2. Kin By Tuft & Needle Firm 8″ Adaptive Foam Queen Mattress in a Box — The Firmer, Lower-Profile Option
The firm 8-inch Kin changes two variables at once: firmness and height. That makes it a distinct pick rather than a smaller version of #1. At $549, it is $200 less than the 10-inch medium-firm queen, and its 4.4 rating is higher in the supplied product data. The shorter profile may also suit a lower bed setup or a shopper who doesn’t want extra mattress height. Don’t choose it just because it costs less; choose it because firm is closer to your preference. This is the clearest value choice for a queen shopper who wants a firmer feel and a simpler profile.

3. Tuft & Needle – New Mint Medium Gel Foam King Mattress — When King Size Comes First
The New Mint is the only king-size option in the supplied set, and that distinction does most of the work. Its listing calls out medium firmness and gel foam, while the 4.6 rating is the highest here. The trade-off is price: $1,845 is far above both Kin queen models and the full-size Kin. That makes this a fit-specific pick, not a universal winner. If you need a king and want medium rather than firm, this is the most direct match. If you only need a queen, paying for the larger size makes no sense.
4. Kin by Tuft & Needle Firm 6″ Adaptive Foam Full Mattress in a Box — The Small-Bed Budget Route
The 6-inch full-size Kin is the least expensive option at $310 and carries a 4.4 rating. Its name gives you the important facts without guesswork: full size, firm feel, Adaptive Foam, and a 6-inch profile. That combination makes it the practical route for a guest room, smaller bedroom, or shopper who needs a full rather than a queen. It won’t be the right answer for someone who wants a taller medium mattress, but it is the cleanest way to keep both size and price under control. Start here when a full bed is non-negotiable.
5. Tuft & Needle Original Hybrid Medium Queen Mattress in A Box, Adaptive Foam — The Queen Hybrid Upgrade
The Original Hybrid is the higher-cost queen alternative, listed at $1,545 with a 4.4 rating. The word hybrid is the key differentiator in the product data, so it should be compared with the foam-only Kin models as a different construction category. The medium firmness keeps it closer to #1 than #2, but the price is more than twice the 8-inch firm Kin. Pick it when hybrid construction is the reason you’re shopping Tuft & Needle. If your priority is simply a queen mattress at the lowest supplied price, the 6-inch full or 8-inch queen is the more restrained choice.
Comparison Table
| Pick | Size | Profile | Feel or construction | Rating | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kin Medium Firm | Queen | 10 in | Adaptive Foam | 4.2 | $749 |
| Kin Firm | Queen | 8 in | Adaptive Foam | 4.4 | $549 |
| New Mint | King | Not stated | Medium Gel Foam | 4.6 | $1,845 |
| Kin Firm | Full | 6 in | Adaptive Foam | 4.4 | $310 |
| Original Hybrid | Queen | Not stated | Medium Hybrid, Adaptive Foam | 4.4 | $1,545 |
Buying Guide
Start with size. The New Mint is the only king, the two standard Kin models are queen, the Original Hybrid is queen, and the lower-cost Kin is full. Mattress size is not a minor detail; the wrong width can force a return even when the feel is right.
Next, decide whether firmness or construction is the bigger priority. The supplied listings identify two firm Kin models, two medium options, and one medium-firm option. They also separate Adaptive Foam, Gel Foam, and Hybrid. That gives you a usable shortlist without pretending those labels mean the same thing. Sleep Foundation guidance supports matching firmness to sleeping position and personal comfort rather than chasing a universal “best.”
Then set the price ceiling. The gap is wide: $310 for the full Kin, $549 for the firm queen, $749 for the medium-firm queen, $1,545 for the queen hybrid, and $1,845 for the king gel-foam model. A higher price may buy a different size or construction, but it doesn’t automatically make the mattress the better match.
Finally, check the live listing for the current return terms, delivery details, and any certification information. Those details can change even when the model name stays the same. CertiPUR-US is especially relevant when you are comparing foam options, while a hybrid shopper should focus on the exact construction shown on the product page.
Which Tuft & Needle Mattress Fits Which Sleeper?
For a typical queen shopper, the 10-inch medium-firm Kin is the balanced starting point. For someone who already knows they prefer firm, the 8-inch queen Kin is more focused and $200 cheaper. For a full-size guest room, the 6-inch Kin is the budget answer. The New Mint is for king-size shoppers who want medium gel foam, while the Original Hybrid is for queen shoppers who specifically want a hybrid build.
That division matters because the prices are too far apart for a single winner to make sense. The $310 full and $1,845 king are solving different room and size problems. The shortcut is to choose your non-negotiable first: size, firmness, or construction. Price comes next.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Tuft & Needle a good mattress brand?
Yes, the supplied listings carry ratings from 4.2 to 4.6, but the brand name isn’t enough to choose a model. Compare size, firmness, construction, and price first.
Which Tuft & Needle mattress is best for most queen beds?
The 10-inch medium-firm Kin is the most balanced starting point because it is queen size and sits between the lower-profile firm model and the more expensive hybrid.
Is the 8-inch Kin mattress firm?
Yes. The listing names it as a firm 8-inch Adaptive Foam queen mattress. Choose it when firm feel and a lower profile matter more than extra height.
What is the cheapest Tuft & Needle mattress in this comparison?
The 6-inch firm full-size Kin is cheapest at the supplied price of $310. It is a full mattress, so it isn’t a substitute for a queen or king.
Is the Tuft & Needle Original Hybrid worth the higher price?
It depends on whether hybrid construction is your priority. At $1,545, it costs much more than the foam-only Kin models, so the premium only makes sense if you specifically want that construction.
Does a higher rating mean the mattress will feel better?
No. A 4.6 rating is useful context, not a firmness guarantee. The New Mint’s rating is highest here, but it is also the only king and one of the most expensive options, so size and budget still decide whether it fits.
Bottom Line
The 10-inch Kin medium-firm queen is the one most queen shoppers should start with because it balances size, height, and feel. If you want firm and want to spend less, choose the 8-inch Kin instead. Choose the New Mint only when king size and medium gel foam justify the $1,845 price, or choose the Original Hybrid when hybrid construction is the point. The cheapest option is useful, but it is a full-size bed with a 6-inch profile.

Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!